Unexpected good

My daughter called a day ago to see if it was too short notice to come with our grandsons for Thanksgiving.

What??

Of course not!

(Behind the scenes, much scurrying, changing of plans, and watch PJ run unplanned errands like a wild turkey…)

My beautiful girl (that I’ve had less and less relationship with for the past decade as our dysfunctional marriages and lives collided) is bringing her two little guys home for Thanksgiving.  She’s battling exhaustion, and such a deep grief that it’s stressing and breaking her body and her heart because the marriage she’s been fragmenting herself to save may be crumbling in slow motion like a shattered porcelain dream around her feet.

But all I could hear was her saying she’d come home for Thanksgiving.  Goosebumps of happiness.

ooohhh… Now I really do have to clean the house more.  And catch up on laundry.  Change bedding.  Find the special foods for their food allergy restrictions.

Truthfully, I wasn’t going to cook a turkey dinner.  The kids here said they didn’t care, so I was actually kind of relieved and planned on making homemade pizzas, and have the token pumpkin pie for dessert.  I tentatively asked my daughter if she wanted a turkey dinner, and she said, “Oh, I wouldn’t care, but Grandson1 (eight years old) has his heart set on a traditional Thanksgiving family dinner around the table.”

Methinks perhaps my daughter is also craving this.  She’s leaving Thanksgiving morning on a several hour drive, so I guess dinner will be later than usual, but pretty darn wonderful to see those faces much sooner than I thought I would again!

My passive aggressive husband has balked a little ever so subtly at the changes and extra errands and chores, but I just don’t care.  I’m so excited to see those grandsons, and I feel this stubborn wild determined strength that defies any passive aggressive dynamics to dampen my happy thoughts.  There’s a good chance he’ll come around completely… and if not… I’ll cross that bridge if I come to it.

Think good thoughts for the kitchen recalcitrant PJ, and I’ll be thinking of you all and hoping you have a truly peaceful day!

This entry was posted in abusive marriage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Unexpected good

  1. Seeing the Light says:

    So excited for you!!! I will be dragging this tired old body to the kitchen to do the same thing for us and a handful of family guests. May you have a blessed Thankgiving!

    Like

  2. Jane Thorne says:

    ❤ Happy Thanksgiving PJ, with smiling beloved faces at your table xX

    Like

  3. Exodus says:

    Happy Thanksgiving PJ’s! Glad that you have been inspired by love to celebrate! I’ve been cooking for the Wesley Center for two days and today I will be serving all day today. I think this Thanksgiving ranks right up there with the best of the very best T’givings despite not having any family or friends to celebrate with.

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    WooHoo!! Enjoy the day! God bless you and your family!!!

    Like

  5. Newshoes says:

    That s awesome news! You ll have to tell us how it all went 🙂 happy Thanksgiving.

    Like

Leave a Reply

