The repair that didn’t happen

Last night I dreamed that my husband asked me to go on a short car ride.  It was a beautiful morning in my dream, and our two youngest daughters were along in the backseat.  We were already driving down the road when I noticed that we weren’t even in our own car.  My husband was driving an older car that wasn’t safely working, one that had been castoff by a friend of a son.  (This car doesn’t exist in real life, only in the dream.)  I actually thought the car was kind of cool, the kind of classic you’d want to restore, but I was upset that he had us in an unsafe vehicle.  He pulled into a repair shop, and told us we just had to wait a short while.  In my dream, this kept repeating.   I’d want to leave the shop and go home, and he would tell me it was almost ready, almost done, would just be a few minutes etc.  Finally it was dusk, and I knew that the shop would close for the evening.  I wanted to call one of my sons to come pick us up, but I couldn’t get a hold of anyone, so I set out walking and walked all the way home.  I asked my son to go pick up his sisters (and his father, even though I was at the point that I didn’t care if my husband had to sleep in the parking lot of that repair shop).

It is getting late in my life now, and I still hear his pleas and promises.

This entry was posted in dreams, passive aggressive abuse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The repair that didn’t happen

  1. paescapee says:

    Ouch! I really identified with the emotions that you have evoked in your post- the feelings of helplessness and powerlessness, as well as the relief always just being slightly out of reach. Also the feelings of frustration and danger. However, you took responsibility for walking home alone, which made me respect your empowerment. This really resonated with me, thank you.

    Like

  2. ChickenLadyMovedToTown says:

    Oh wow! Your post brought tears to my eyes. I get it! Same here. The church, my husband attends, has been working on him by insisting he take full responsibility, are not allowing him to play the part of victim, or to blame me. I’ll keep you posted.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane Thorne says:

    Holding hope and sending you hugs. ❤ xXx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lonelywife07 says:

    Dreams really are an outlet for what’s going on in our lives, aren’t they? I’ve been having some weird ones lately….and I can’t even really remember them after I wake up…they just drift away…but I’m aware that I was dreaming, and it was unsettling.
    But I’m not a dreamer. Or at least I never have been before….but I’m also having a hard time sleeping these days. And it just hit me that maybe it’s because on the surface things are fine…but in my heart, I know that nothing has changed. Hmmm….something to think about.

    Like

    • WritesinPJ's says:

      Lonelywife, I learned that to remember dreams, it helps to make a habit of not opening your eyes when you first awaken, but just quietly try to remember any dreams. If you keep a notebook next to your bed, open your eyes and write down whatever you do remember. When I’ve done that in the past, over the days of those notes, I usually come to see patterns, and the meaning of some dreams became clearer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

